US Edition

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr US Edition

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard

ELVIRA CARR BELIEVES IN RULES

… crisp schedules, no surprises and taking people at face value.  Not that the twenty-seven-year old sees many people.  After several unfortunate incidents, her overbearing mother keeps her at home.

But when her mother has a stroke Elvira is suddenly on her own.  To help her navigate a world that is often puzzling she draws up seven ironclad rules.  Armed with these, a note book full of questions and guidance from a helpful neighbour, she takes charge of herself – and realizes something isn’t quite right about the life she thought she knew.

She’ll need all her courage, perseverance and thinking skills to unravel the mystery of what happened to her family and to manage her own life, her way.

Sourcebooks will publish The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr in the US in July 2017.

For US publicity please contact Lathea Williams at lathea.williams@sourcebooks.com.

Book Reviews

Maynard, Frances. The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr. Sourcebooks. Jul. 2017. 400p. ISBN 9781492649274. pap. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9781492649281. F

[DEBUT] At 27, Elvira Carr has led an extremely sheltered life owing to the “incidents” caused by her “condition.” Readers will quickly realize that Elvira is someone on the autism spectrum and will be reminded of Don Tillman in Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project. When her mother suffers a stroke and ends up in a nursing home, Elvira is suddenly thrust into a world she finds quite alien. Arming herself with a list of seven rules and the help of next-door neighbor Sylvia, Elvira is determined to survive. Some rules are easier to follow than others. A shopping trip with Sylvia goes a long way toward Rule #2: “If you look or sound different you won’t fit in.” Others take some time to understand, such as Rule #5: “Not everyone who is nice to me is my friend.” In the end, Elvira follows her rules to a new life.

Verdict Debut novelist Maynard puts her background as a teacher of adults with learning difficulties to good effect in crafting this heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project and Julia Claiborne Johnson’s Be Frank with Me.—Catherine Coyne, Mansfield P.L., MA

 

My First Book Group

Had a great evening in September Skyping with the book group at Written Words book store in Shelton, Connecticut, USA.  They were very kind and friendly and knew so much about the book.

Back to Top