Frances Maynard

Arriving June 27th 2019!

 ‘Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, less than perfect teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn’t need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She’s more than capable of looking after herself. But she’s about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes. Even her. And then the thing about trusting others is that not everyone is trustworthy …’

Thrilled to now be the author of two books! Maggsie McNaughton’s Second Chance comes out June 27th 2019 with Pan Macmillan.

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr ‘ by Frances Maynard was published by Mantle/Pan Macmillan in  2017.

My first novel is also published in the US by Sourcebooks as ‘The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr’ and, in translation, in Germany and Poland.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time introduced Christopher Boone, Elizabeth is Missing gave us Maud Horsham, now meet Elvira Carr …

Elvira Carr is 27 and neuro-atypical.

Her father – who she suspects was in the Secret Service – has passed away and, after several Unfortunate Incidents growing up, she now spends most of her time at home with her overbearing mother. But when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira is suddenly forced to look after herself or risk ending up in Sheltered Accommodation.

Armed with Seven Imperfect Rules she’s put together, and a love of biscuits, Elvira hopes to learn how to navigate a world that’s full of people she doesn’t understand.

Not even the Seven Rules can help her, however, when she discovers that everything she thought she knew about her father was a lie, and she is faced with solving a mystery she didn’t even know existed …

The lovely summery cover of the paperback.

Back to Top